Return to "The Boss" Tail Dragger
Sort By::
Page of 2
Click to see more items


  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Works great September 27, 2022
Reviewer: Brian Andersen from South Jordan, UT United States  
This tug works as advertised. Going up or down small inclines with small bumps are no problem. My airplane has a very low tail and the original tug wouldn't fit under it. The company was very responsive and sent me a new part. It works great now.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
4 of 5 Minimax tug - RV-8 August 31, 2022
Reviewer: Galen Killam from Appleton, WI United States  
Outside of some communication issues about pick up at EAA, I was able to get the tug sent to my house in a few days.  However, in the essence of speed of shipping, the charger for the battery was not included in the original shipment.  It was sent a few days later.  The tail wheel plate on the tug was bent up in the corner when I got it, rather than ask for a replacement, I just bent it back.  It has a slight blemish that will wear away over time.  Quality control on shipping could be improved for sure.  Since the tug has been in service, it has worked well, no further complaints.  Beyond the initial issues, I would recommend this tug for RV tail draggers.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
1 of 5 Totally Unsuitable for Baby Bush wheels April 27, 2022
Reviewer: Anonymous Person from Madison, AL United States  
Sales department said this product would work with a Baby Bush Wheel (BW) tail wheel.  Issues: The front plate that the tail wheel rests on is 4.5 inches; the lower right corner is intentionally bent up to help prevent the wheel from sliding off. This causes the tail wheel to rest on the bent portion which, by the way is sharp. This bent portion strikes the tail wheel dead in the middle which would potentially end up puncturing it. Had a welder modify the "shelf". Then had to order the hub adaptors and 25lb plates as I could not get traction on my hangar floor which is not polished or painted.  Also, make sure your hangar does not have lip or raised edge at the door. My bifold entrance has a 3/8 inch raised edge. The Boss will not pass over it unless I put my weight on it in addition to holding pedal down at the same time. With the modification, hub adaptors, and weights, the cost was close enough that a Best Tug Alpha model would have a better option ... with none of the problems.<br>
<br>
MINIMAX TEAM- Randy, per our email on 3-7-22 we told you, "We can make the adjustment if you want to send the lifting arm back to us".  We are more than willing to work with you on this.  We pride ourselves on customer service and apologize that you had this work performed by someone else with no further communication with us.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 The boss January 26, 2022
Reviewer: Mark Peebles from Mount Dora , FL United States  
Order went well and received the boss in 2-3 weeks.
Had little trouble as I slid the wheels on all the way and of course the axle was way too long.took a few minutes and then looked ahead and saw the bolt went then it made sense.
Still having some trouble placing the cradle on the Tailwheel.
The drill and handle tend to move down when I need to apply pressure for traction. Am afraid to keep tightening the collar.
Overall it works as advertised for my biplane


Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Boss Tug June 25, 2021
Reviewer: Kent Williams from Port Alsworth, Alaska, United States  
the assembly was fast and easy, and they shipped it to me ahead of schedule so that it could get a free ride to Alaska.  it even works well in the gravel in front of my hangar that has a fairly strong slope.  it helped greatly to let a little air out of the tires!

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 The Boss... Great product June 3, 2021
Reviewer: Jim OBrien from Riverside, CA United States  
Works great.  Takes a few times to figure it out, but once you do, it’s great!

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
4 of 5 Nice but... April 6, 2021
Reviewer: Steve Hill from Moriarty, NM United States  
The box was damaged but the only damage was a bend in the tail wheel plate. Straightened it out at the cost of some powder coating. Easy to assemble. Mods will be reqd to work on our 1950 Bellanca 14-19. It just barely fits on the tailwheel because of the scissor mechanism on the aircraft.  The tail lift lever hits the rudder when turning.  The 210# on the tailwheel is within the advertised wt limit.  I thought traction would be OK on bare concrete but the wheels spin until you get it moving with a good push. We have the Milwaukee powered version.  Wheel weights might have been worth it.  Their clever trick to avoid needing a differential works somewhat but turning is still hard.  A free-wheeling mode would be nice since it is slow getting the unit back in the hangar.  It high-centers on the 1 inch angles at the base of the Stack Doors which will require a ramp.  I am hoping that our investment will provide a good starting point that will work after modifications and more practice.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
1 of 5 Doesn’t work very well February 3, 2021
Reviewer: Lee Hannibal from Rathdrum, ID United States  
The snow tires that came with it interferes with the release mechanism

Minimax Customer Service- We have since remedied this issue with the customer.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 AirCam June 17, 2017
Reviewer: R Swanson from Sacramento, CA  
Here is tug on my AirCam. It works great.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 The tug is doing perfectly. May 31, 2014
Reviewer: Diane Cole from Virginia  
The tug is doing perfectly.  I love the precision it gives me in running the plane in and out of a tight space.  Thank you.



Was this review helpful to you?

   
  Click to see more items